Flood Emergency Response Operations 2022 Donate




Jafarabad or Jaffarabad or Jaffar Khan Jamali district lies in the South-East of the Pakistani province of Balochistan. Jafarabad’s headquarters are at Dera Allah Yar. Formerly known as the Jhatpat subdivision, the region was part of the Jacobabad District until 1970 and part of the Sibi District until 1975. It became a district of its own in 1987.[2]Jaffarabad The district is sub-divided into three tehsils. At the end of the 15th century, Jaffarabad was under Lasharis. The main tribes of this district are: Jamali, Khoso, Rind, Marri, Bugti, Bulledi, Magsi, Mengal and other communities are Gola, Umrani, lashari, Domki, Kanrani, Gajani, Siapad Brohi and small number of Soomro, bhanger, abro tribes.

According to the 2017 census, the total population of the district is 513,813. The predominant first language is Balochi, spoken by 62% of the population, followed by Sindhi with 24%, and Saraiki with 11%.

BRSP Impact

Districts Reached
  • Districts: BRSP Presence
  • Districts: NRSP Intervention Area
  • Selected Districts: Jafferabad